Leaving UGA

When you leave UGA (for students, usually by graduating or transferring, for faculty/staff by ending employment) your Bulldog Bucks account will remain active until one of the following things occur:

  1. You complete a Bulldog Bucks Account Closure Form.

  2. Your account remains inactive for one year.

When to close an account

You may close you account at any time. However, except in the case of separation from the University (such as Graduation or Withdrawal), an account management fee will be charged if you close your account before the end of the semester. In addition, you will not be permitted to open a new Bulldog Bucks account until the following semester.

How to close an account

Accounts can be closed online using our Account Closure Form or in person at the Bulldog Bucks office.

Account Balance Refunds or Donation to the Let All the Big Dawgs Eat Scholarship

Bulldog Bucks Cardholders will receive a refund  of their remaining balance ($5 or greater) unless the option is selected to donate remaining balances to UGA's Let All the Big Dawgs Eat Food Scholarship fund upon account closure. The Let All the Big Dawgs Eat Food Scholarship is a need-based scholarship that awards meal plans to a number of UGA students each fall and spring semester. Created by the Office of Student Affairs, this scholarship aims to combat food insecurity and eliminate hunger amongst the student body at the University of Georgia. Please remember to check your account balance prior to closing your account to ensure accurate account information. 

To Donate to the Let All the Big Dawgs Eat Food Scholarship: The Cardholder should complete an Account Closure Form, select the option to donate remaining balances, and submit it to the Bulldog Bucks office. Learn more about UGA's Food Scholarship.

To Receive a Refund: The Cardholder should complete an Account Closure Form, select the option to receive a refund for remaining balances, and submit it to the Bulldog Bucks office.

Accounts that remain inactive for one year will be automatically closed out and the Cardholder will receive a refund for the remaining account balance.  

Cost of Account Closure

Fees will not be charged for account closure unless the account remains inactive for one year (12 calendar months), or the account is closed during the course of a semester. In each of these cases, a fee of either $25 or the account balance, whichever is smaller, will be charged. Accounts closed between semesters or upon separation from the University (such as by Graduation or Withdrawal) will not be charged any closure fee.